Breaking down MLB’s Home Run Derby

Jul 19, 2018 | Sports

Bryce Harper of the Washington Nationals celebrates as he wins the 2018 Home Run Derby. (Geoff Burke/USA TODAY Sports)

Brandon Maron and Andrew Jeffrey

Bryce Harper of the Washington Nationals didn’t disappoint his hometown crowd by winning the 2018 Home Run Derby trophy Monday.

Fans at Nationals Park in Washington, D.C., were treated to a thrilling evening from start to finish, including a new home runs record set by eight batters at the MLB All-Star event.

The hitters in this year’s derby were Jesús Aguilar (Milwaukee Brewers), Rhys Hoskins (Philadelphia Phillies), Alex Bregman (Houston Astros), Kyle Schwarber (Chicago Cubs), Max Muncy (Los Angeles Dodgers), Javier Báez (Chicago Cubs), Freddie Freeman (Atlanta Braves) and Harper.

The group hit 221 homers in the event, 18 more than the record set two years ago.

The following infographic looks at the statistics from this year’s derby, followed by a timeline that looks at the history of the event.