Downtown Toronto election results

Published On October 27, 2014 | By | Features, News, Politics
By Abdikarim Hashi and Samantha Singh

Joe Cressy has won a massive victory in Ward 20 – Trinity-Spadina, with 42 per cent of the popular vote versus 12 per cent for Terri Chu and just nine per cent for Sarah Thomson. Ward 20 was Toronto’s most crowded council election with 22 candidates.

Joe Cressy gives his victory speech at Ryze nightclub at College and Bathurst. (Photo by Samantha Singh)

Joe Cressy gives his victory speech at Ryze nightclub at College and Bathurst. (Photo by Samantha Singh)

In his victory speech Cressy said that he is happy we don’t have a mayor named Ford. He said he has known John Tory for years and can’t wait to discuss their shared visions to build the city back up.

Cressy is replacing Adam Vaughan, who was also the candidate Cressy lost to in the past election.

“In the last year I learned what it was like to lose, but now I have a sense of what it feels like to win. Let me tell you, winning feels a lot better,” said Cressy.

Vaughan left municipal politics to run for a federal seat in Trinity-Spadina after Olivia Chow left Ottawa to run for mayor.

There were no upsets in other parts of downtown Toronto.

Mike Layton, son of the late Jack Layton, was way ahead of the competition with 83 per cent of votes in Ward 19. After attending Olivia Chow’s party, he later went on to the Ryze nightclub on College Street to give his victory speech.

“We will keep bringing that message of progressive politics to city hall,” said Layton.

Ana Bailão, another anti-Ford candidate, beat out Alex Mazer 45 per cent to 41 per cent, in one of the closest races of in the former city of Toronto.

In Ward 30, Paula Fletcher secured 49 per cent of the votes. In second place was former broadcaster Liz West with 27 per cent.

Janet Davis has been re-elected for Ward 31, Beaches-East York, with a massive 61 per cent over George Papadakis’ 14 per cent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *